July 30, 2013

  • Wish Me Luck

    As I may have mentioned, I have a “test” tomorrow about the role of the private sector in humanitarian assistance. The test follows from my candidacy to an intern position at the UN. I’ve been buried the past 36 hours in learning about humanitarian assistance, the changes in needs, and the recent trends in funding, involvement, and best practices.

    It’s been a lot.

    Part of the research required me to look at how the UN operates in this area. The UN has a bureaucracy like you wouldn’t believe! So many agencies, and then the all-important inter-agency standing committee (IASC), well, I ask, “Why must this be so complicated?” I don’t think it’s all that bad, it’s just a little daunting to a green outsider.

    Anyway, the internship is a very cool opportunity. It would be in the humanitarian affairs department, and if I’m doing stuff related to what I’ve been researching, it would provide great exposure to corporate best practices, dealing in an international setting, and seeing how different countries treat businesses (so far, there’s a big difference between the US view of a company and the more-international, “stakeholder” approach). Since I do have an interest in international law/estate planning (and I believe that these fields will only increasingly overlap in the future), this could be a wonderful opportunity.

    The test is written, online, and two hours. My goal is just to answer the question(s?!) coherently and intelligently. My sister has friend who worked at the UN. Among other helpful tidbits, she said that the goal of the test is probably to see if: (1) I can write; (2) I can convey knowledge about a subject area; and (3) think strategically about the subject area.

    So, wish me luck! I’d love to update yous guys on the results if teh Xangas are still around when I get the news. Now, it is time for sleep so that I can wake up and impress the pants off the lady in Geneva who will be grading my responses (but not in a creepy way…just in a “I really want to impress her” kind of way).

Comments (7)

  • Good Luck! I’ve got my fingers crossed for your success on the test!

  • @murisopsis - Thanks! I just finished it…and now I’m waiting to hear back. They said they’ll get back “within a few weeks.” Don’t they know I’m planning out my life now?!

  • add me on skype… mellywelly1584.. annnnnnnnd I’m sure you’d impress ur pants off.. Haha x

  • I hope your results will be exulting and full of joy. All the best to you in your future.

  • I guess you probably don’t know your results yet, but I hope (and am sure that) you did very well!  The internship sounds like a fantastic opportunity for you.

    And I know you said you were probably not going to go on blogging anywhere else after the Xanga shutdown (at least not right away), but I hope you know that if you ever do go elsewhere, I will be eagerly awaiting that news from you.

  • @ZSA_MD - Thank you!

    @decembriel - Ahhh, yes. It appears that I will be able to update you when I get the news…although, if I get the internship, it would certainly be posted on Facebook where you could see it to. I’ve already formulated the status update in my head jic: “Congratulations! I wanted to be the first to let you know that you all now officially have a contact at the UN!”

    If I get the internship, I’m sure that whatever I post on Xanga will be similar. : )

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *